The Main Chorus

At the heart of the symphonic choral repertoire 

In 1976, at the invitation of Daniel Barenboim, Arthur Oldham founded the Choir of the Orchestre de Paris. He went on to conduct it until 2002. Didier Bouture and Geoffroy Jourdain then shared the conducting of the Choir until 2010. Since September 2011, Lionel Sow has been its Chorusmaster.  

The Chorus is composed of amateur singers with a very good level of singing. Mainly associated with the Orchestre de Paris, the chorus regularly collaborates with other symphonic formations, in Paris, in France or abroad. Its development requires constant training and a drive for artistic excellence. 

The Academy of the Orchestre de Paris Chorus 

Une pépinière de jeunes talents

A fertile preparatory setting for the development of young talent.

Created in September 2012 by Lionel Sow, this training course is aimed more particularly at young people aged between 18 and 25 with a solid vocal and musical background, and of which most of the choristers will come from the best choir schools, youth choirs or conservatory singing classes.  

The specificity of the Academy is to train singers to a higher musical level thanks to an adapted pedagogy. The Academy participates in all the symphonic productions of the  Orchestre de Paris Chorus, collaborating with guest conductors during the season, whilst concurrently  performing independently, with varying numbers of singers, in other musical programmes. 

The Chamber Choir 

From the symphonic to the a cappella repertoire  

Created in 2013, this Chamber Choir is aimed at very good singers who have a solid vocal training and a great autonomy in the preparation of the music. Its small size allows it to perform other works in addition to symphonic programmes. It can thus be brought in to perform alone, or with guest ensembles and orchestras. 

Rehearsals and training

Rehearsals at the Philharmonie de Paris  
The symphonic chorus which brings together the 3 formations (Main chorus, Academy, Chamber choir) rehearses all together on Tuesday evenings (outside school holidays), from 20h00 to 22h30 and in partial rehearsals on Monday or Wednesday from 20h to 22h (outside school holidays). 

The Academy and the Chamber Choir also rehearse one weekend a month to work on programmes specific to each one of them.

Pedagogical training is a constant concern within the Orchestre de Paris Chorus in order to maintain this level of excellence. The singers have the opportunity of taking singing lessons to continue to perfect their art. They can take individual lessons, given by a team of experienced singing teachers. These 45-minute lessons take place every week or every fortnight depending on the formula chosen, and are accompanied on the piano every other day. Registration is possible within the limit of available places and involves a financial contribution.

The academicians benefit from a pedagogical system that provides complementary lessons to the rehearsals and singing lessons which include ensemble music, interpretation and languages. Teaching team: Sylvia Kervorkian, Erick Mahé, Valérie Millot, Baptiste Jore, François Levy, Léa Sarfai, Camila Toro Beltran, Margot Modier, Daïnouri Choque, Susanna Poddighe. 

The singers

Louise Alexis, Grégory Allou, Paul Alric, Françoise Anav-Mallard, Louis Anderson, Maïlys Arbaoui-Westphal, Camila Argolo, Timothy Artusio, Timothée Asensio Frery, Virginie Bacquet, Nida Baierl, Ida Barat, Jean-Sébastien Basset, Corinne Berardi, Gabrielle Besse, Manon Bonneville, Roxane Borde, Anne Boulet-Gercourt, Vincent Boussac, Paul Brochen, Agnès Bucquet, Magalie Bulot, Sophie Cabanes, Clara Callewaert, Lucie Camps, Vincent Candalot, Pere Canut De Las Heras, Isabelle Carlean-Jones, Mylène Cassan, Julien Catel, Bertille Caudron, Christine Cazala, Jean-François Cerezo, Léonie Chappard, Ferréol Charles, Cécile Chéraqui, Anne Chevalier, Marie-Agathe Chevalier, Sabine Chollet, Stéphane Clement, Olivier Clement, Pierre Colas, Maia-Angelica Costa, Justin Coube, Alice Cremades, Jean Da Col, Virginie Da Vinha-Esteve, Raphaëlle Daoglio, Françoise Davril, Alice De Monfreid, Colombe De Poncins, Marie-Albane De Saint-Victor, Xavier De Snoeck, Gilles Debenay, Valentin Delafontaine, Violette Delhommeau, Christiane Detrez-Lagny, Fatoumata Dicko-Dogan, Stéphane Dri, Julien Dubarry, Romain Dufrene, Ghislain Dupré, Katarina Eliot, Emmanuel Enault, Chloé Fabreguettes, Renaud Farkoa, Patrick Felix, Johanna Fontaine, Pierre Gadeau, Stephanie Gaillard, Maud Gastinel, Tristan Gaudin, Nathalie Gauthier, Matthieu Gourdon, Pierre-Emmanuel Graindorge, Nicolas Grégis, Stéphane Grosclaude, Laurent Guanzini, Thomas Guillaussier, Christophe Gutton, Mathilde Herbaut, Maxence Herillard, Elisabeth Higelin, Martin Hosch, Elisabeth Houpert, Anne-Laure Hulin, Christopher Hyde, Caroline Irigoin, Alain Ishema Karamaga, Didier Kaleff, Caroline Koclejda, Benoit Labaune, Serge Lacorne, Clémence Lalaut, Sylvie Lapergue, Juliette Lartillot-Auteuil, Marc Laugenie, Clémence Laveggi, Gregoire Lecomte, Jaeyoon Lee,
Nicole Leloir, Julie Lempernesse, Clémence Lengagne, Gilles Lesur, Eric Leurs, Pierre Logerais, Louis Lorieux, Suzanne Louvel, Zôé Lyard, Laura Malvarosa, Catherine Marnier, Maxime Martelot, Salvador Mascarenhas, Fabrizio Matrogirolamo, Nicolas Maubert, Agnès Maurel, Jill Mccoy, Florence Mededji-Guieu, Virginie Mekongo, Catherine Mercier, Augustin Mondan, Michiko Monnier, Clara Moret, Sarah Morisot, Alice Moutier, Anne Muller-Gatto, Pierre Nyounay Nyounay, Martine Patrouillault, David Pergaud, Didier Peroutin, Sébastien Pettoello, Denis Peyrat, Pierre Philippe, Eric Picouleau, Frédéric Pineau, Guillaume Pinta, Adélaïde Pleutin, Philippe Quiles, Ny Ifaliana Ratrema, Clarisse Rerolle, Aude Reveille, Anémone Robic, Ludivine Ronceau-Quesada, Cécile Roque Alsina, Frédéric Royer, Sophorn Saat, Lola Saint-Gilles, Charline Samphel, Véronique Sangin, Silvia Sauer-Witwicky, Sandrine Scaduto, Anaïs Schneider, Maxime Sebbag, Mathilde Segal, Ares Siradag, Bénédicte Six, Neli Sochirca, Quentin Ssosse, David Suzanne, Nina Tchernitchko, Clément Tixier, Théo Tonnellier, Kathryn Trave, Marly Trepy, Emmanuel Tridant, Bruno Vaillant, Arié Vaisbrot, Margarita Van Dommelen, Anna Vateva, François Verger, Swann Veyret, Clothilde Wagner, Michel Watelet, Victor Wetzel.